Microfiber Makeup Remover Cloths

Microfiber cloths seem to be the ‘it’ cleaning cloth these days for your kitchen bench through to your car. But a few weeks ago I came across a new way microfiber cloths are being used – as a makeup remover. They claim to be able to remove all your makeup with just the cloth and water, so naturally I had to give it a go.

I run the cloth under the tap and get the whole thing damp, then I start by rubbing the cloth around my face, removing my makeup off most of my face before targeting the eyes and the lips with a clean corner of the cloth. I do this because these areas often have more colour and product build up. And surprisingly, all the makeup came off, with possibly a tiny bit left on the closest corner to the under eye if using lots of eyeliner and mascara.

Now I hate makeup removers as a general rule. I find them either far too harsh or if they’re gentle enough on my skin they cost far more than they should. So being a pro-organic skincare kind of person, I’ve been using certified rosehip oil as a makeup remover/face oil/anti-aging oil. It’s a great multi-purpose oil and also does a good job of removing my makeup, but can still be a little uncomfortable at the edge of the eye.

So what I like about the microfiber cloth is that there aren’t any products that can irritate the eye. It’s also great for travelling because all you need is water. It’s also perfect for the lazy person who can’t be bothered with a night time skincare routine where you remove your makeup then cleanse, tone etc. I don’t however go along with the idea that the microfiber cloth is a replacement for cleansing and exfoliating. The microfiber cloth is essentially a flannel that works more effectively. After removing your makeup, you should still your usual skincare routine of at least cleansing and moisturising. Cleansing removes excess dirt oils and any makeup the cloth may have missed, while moisturising rehydrates the skin. Using toners, serums and exfoliators are also a good way to further look after your skin, depending on your skin type and condition.

Krystal xx

Leave a Reply

